Manchester Metropolitan University, 6-8 April 2020

Home  /   Awards  /  Past Winners
  • Information Literacy Awards banner

Past Winners

Find out all about our past winners and runners-up.

Established in 2008 these prestigious awards honour those special people who are making a significant contribution to Information Literacy within any sector.


Information Literacy Award Winners

The Information Literacy Award recognises an outstanding UK-based IL practitioner or researcher.

The winner in 2018 was Emily Hurt, Clinical Librarian (Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust). Emily won the award for her work on a high impact ILG-funded project to increase research capacity and capability amongst her organisation’s nurses, midwives and allied health professionals.



Other shortlisted nominees were:

  • Paul Biggs (Academic Skills Tutor Librarian, Staffordshire University)
  • Veronica Cunningham (Independent IL researcher & consultant)
  • Lucy Roper (Information Governance Manager, University College of Estate Management (UCEM).

Previous winners:

  • 2017 - Helen Howard (Leeds University Library). The runner-up was Jo Parker (Open University).
  • 2016 - Yin Min Tun (University of Manchester). The runner-up was Elizabeth Hutchinson (Guille-Alles Library, St Peter Port).
  • 2015 - Katharine Reedy (Open University). The runner-up was Sarah George (University of Bradford).
  • 2014 - Dr Jane Secker (London School of Economics and Political Science). The runner-up was Nazlin Bhimani (Institute of Education, University of London).
  • 2013 - Kim McGowan (University of Cumbria). The runner-up was Michelle Schneider (University of Leeds). 
  • 2012 - Andrew Walsh (University of Huddersfield). The runner-up was Judy Atkinson (Royal College of Nursing).
  • 2011 - Duncan Chappell (Glasgow School of Art). The runner-up was Sonja Haerkoenen (Cardiff University).
  • 2010 - Anthony Beal (Formerly West Cheshire College).
  • 2009 - Ronan O'Beirne (Bradford College).
  • 2008 - Nigel Morgan (Cardiff University).


Digital Award of Information Literacy Winners

The Digital Award for Information Literacy rewards an innovative/high impact digital resource developed by a UK-based individual or group.

LEAP Online (Mary Barden, Dawn Grundy, Graeme Prescott & Emily McIntosh, University of Bolton).

LEAP Online is an interactive digital resource suite for promoting student learning development and information literacy at the University of Bolton.




Other shortlisted nominees were:

Previous winners:


Student Sponsored Places

The 2018 Student Award provided a sponsored place at LILAC for two students registered on a UK study programme. This award (sponsored by the CILIP Information Literacy Group) consists of full conference registration, travel and accommodation expenses.

The 2018 winners were:

Lisa Gardner who was on her first year of a distance learning PGDip in Library and Information Management at Ulster University.

Bethany Sherwood who was a first year part-time student of Information Science at City, University of London.

Previous winners:

  • 2017 - Bethan Davies (Aberystwyth University) and Leanne Workman (Aberystwyth University).
  • 2016 - Amy O'Donohoe (Robert Gordon University), Amy Rippon (City University, London) and Anna Theis (Manchester Metropolitan University).
  • 2015 - Lucinda May (Manchester Metropolitan University) and Maria Nagle (University of Sheffield).
  • 2014 - Penny Andrews (University of Sheffield) and Amanda Brennan (Robert Gordon University).
  • 2013 - Darren Flynn (Manchester Metropolitan University) and Roisin Cassidy (University of Sheffield). 
  • 2012 -Thasya Elliott (London Metropolitan University).
  • 2011 - Matthew Harvey (Aberystwyth University).
  • 2010 - Jo Alcock (Aberystwyth University).
  • 2009 - in 2009 additional sponsorship meant that there were 7 places available, the winners were; Marion Funnell, Owen Coxall, Samantha Abrahams, Veronica Cunnigham, Katie Fraser, Su Fagg, and Susan Clayton.

Present @ LILAC

LILAC is great opportunity for our fellow professionals to present their ideas, share best practice and show case new thinking in our sector. If you have an idea then we'd love to hear about it. We have many options for the types of sessions you might run from a symposium to a workshop. Visit our Call for presentations page to find out how to apply.

Book your place

Places at this year's conference are likely to be in demand more than ever before. Each year our conference grows increasingly popular and this year promises to be no different. Don't miss out and book your place now for this year's conference.
We look forward to seeing you there!

LILAC on Twitter

follow us @LILAC_conf

We have some exciting news! You may have noticed that our stellar draft programme for #lilac20 is now available to…

24 Jan

The LILAC Committee are currently recruiting for a Marketing & Insights Manager. If you're a motivated & enthusiast…

23 Jan

There's still time to apply for one of our awards: the Rowena Macrae-Gibson Student Award, Information Literacy Awa…

22 Jan

You can also find LILAC on

Parent Body

  • Information Literacy Group


  • Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals
  • Journal of Information Literacy

Our Sponsors