Home  /   LILAC 2018  /  Awards  /  Past Winners
  • Information Literacy Awards banner

Past Winners

Find out all about our past winners and runners-up.

Established in 2008 these prestigious awards honour those special people who are making a significant contribution to Information Literacy within any sector.


Information Literacy Award Winners

The Information Literacy Award recognises an outstanding UK-based IL practitioner or researcher.

The winner in 2017 was Helen Howard (Learning Services Team Leader, Leeds University Library). Helen has done an enormous amount of work in raising the profile of Information Literacy at Leeds. In addition to working with staff and students, she has promoted IL throughout the university and beyond through publications and other activities.

The runner-up for 2017 was Jo Parker (Library Services Manager, Open University).

Other shortlisted nominees were:

  • Greg Cadge (Subject Librarian (Sciences), University of Essex).
  • Darren Flynn (Librarian (Teaching and Learning Support), University of Nottingham)
  • Rebecca Mogg (Education Lead (University Library Service), Cardiff University).
  • Lauren Smith (Research Associate, University of Strathclyde).
  • James Soderman (Faculty Liaison Librarian for Science and Engineering, Queen Mary University of London).
  • Kaye Towlson (Academic Team Manager (Information Literacy), De Montfort University).

Previous winners:

  • 2016 - Yin Min Tun (University of Manchester). The runner-up was Elizabeth Hutchinson (Guille-Alles Library, St Peter Port).
  • 2015 - Katharine Reedy (Open University). The runner-up was Sarah George (University of Bradford).
  • 2014 - Dr Jane Secker (London School of Economics and Political Science). The runner-up was Nazlin Bhimani (Institute of Education, University of London).
  • 2013 - Kim McGowan (University of Cumbria). The runner-up was Michelle Schneider (University of Leeds). 
  • 2012 - Andrew Walsh (University of Huddersfield). The runner-up was Judy Atkinson (Royal College of Nursing).
  • 2011 - Duncan Chappell (Glasgow School of Art). The runner-up was Sonja Haerkoenen (Cardiff University).
  • 2010 - Anthony Beal (Formerly West Cheshire College).
  • 2009 - Ronan O'Beirne (Bradford College).
  • 2008 - Nigel Morgan (Cardiff University).


Digital Award of Information Literacy Winners

The Digital Award for Information Literacy rewards an innovative/high impact digital resource developed by a UK-based individual or group.

The winner in 2017 was 23 Things for Digital Knowledge developed by Stephanie (Charlie) Farley (Open Education Resources Advisor, University of Edinburgh). A resource which builds digital literacy through a well-designed combination of information, discovery and social interaction, appealing to a wide range of learners.

Other shortlisted nominees were:

  • #1minuteCPD (Kate Soper, Colin McAllister-Gibson, Hannah Palin and Chris Meadows (Manchester Metropolitan University) and Cath Wasuik (University of Manchester)).
  • HCARE Library Guide (Jonathan Jones, Cardiff University).
  • KlaSS (Tom Edge, Liz Murray*, Karen Poole, Jane Pothecary and John Woodcock (King's College London) *(now at Institute for Advanced Legal Studies).
  • Widening Participation resources from My Learning Essentials (Dave Hirst, Carlene Barton, Kate Reed and all staff involved in the Library Widening Participation service, University of Manchester).

Previous winners:


Student Sponsored Places

The 2017 Student Award provided a sponsored place at LILAC for two students registered on a UK study programme. This award (sponsored by the CILIP Information Literacy Group) consists of full conference registration, travel and accommodation expenses.

Our 2017 winners were Bethan Davies (full-time student on the Information and Library Studies MA programme at Aberystwyth University) and Leanne Workman (Information Consultant (Sciences) at Royal Holloway University of London and part-time student on the Information and Library Studies postgraduate programme at Aberystwyth University).


  • 2016 - Amy O'Donohoe (Robert Gordon University), Amy Rippon (City University, London) and Anna Theis (Manchester Metropolitan University).
  • 2015 - Lucinda May (Manchester Metropolitan University) and Maria Nagle (University of Sheffield).
  • 2014 - Penny Andrews (University of Sheffield) and Amanda Brennan (Robert Gordon University).
  • 2013 - Darren Flynn (Manchester Metropolitan University) and Roisin Cassidy (University of Sheffield). 
  • 2012 -Thasya Elliott (London Metropolitan University).
  • 2011 - Matthew Harvey (Aberystwyth University).
  • 2010 - Jo Alcock (Aberystwyth University).
  • 2009 - in 2009 additional sponsorship meant that there were 7 places available, the winners were; Marion Funnell, Owen Coxall, Samantha Abrahams, Veronica Cunnigham, Katie Fraser, Su Fagg, and Susan Clayton.

Present @ LILAC

LILAC is great opportunity for our fellow professionals to present their ideas, share best practice and show case new thinking in our sector. If you have an idea then we'd love to hear about it. We have many options for the types of sessions you might run from a symposium to a workshop. Visit our Call for papers page to find out how to apply.

Book your place

Places at this year's conference are likely to be in demand more than ever before. Each year our conference grows increasingly popular and this year promises to be no different. Don't miss out and book your place now for this year's conference.
We look forward to seeing you there!

LILAC on Twitter

follow us @LILAC_conf

My week on Twitter 🎉: 5 Mentions, 2.44K Mention Reach, 10 New Followers. See yours with

20 Jul

RT @infolitgroup: Our next joint informal with @CILIP_ILIG will take place on Wednesday 14th November, with a short talk from @jsecker abou…

17 Jul

My week on Twitter 🎉: 12 Mentions, 2.55K Mention Reach, 10 New Followers. See yours with

13 Jul

You can also find LILAC on

Parent Body

  • Information Literacy Group


  • Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals
  • Journal of Information Literacy

Our Sponsors